Chain sprocket lifespan of bike

Cubic cms
2 min readFeb 27, 2020

--

How did I double the chain and sprocket lifespan of my bike?

When I touched 10,000 KM with my bike (Yamaha FZ-S V 2.0), I noticed some uneven stiff noise from my chain sprocket and drop in mileage as well as performance of my bike. I brought my bike to service center and mechanic did chain cleaning and advised me to replace chain sprocket. Due to the cost of 1600 ₹ of new chain sprocket I decided to ride my bike another 5,000 KM which was very annoying because of very bad chain response.

The cost of replacement of chain sprocket was 1600 ₹ and during 15,000 KM chain cleaned at service center 10–12 times (average 1500 KM/chain cleaning).

Hence, during this time I paid 150 ₹*10 = 1500 ₹ for chain cleaning and another 1600 ₹ for new chain sprocket replacement.

I was very sad. And then decided to clean chain by self.

I went to market and purchased WD-40 (400ml) and castrol chain lube (400ml) which cost me around 750 ₹.

During every 1000–1200 KM, I cleaned my chain. During rainy season, my cleaning was frequent compared to normal weather conditions.

The procedures I followed :-

1st, Take bike for normal washing at washing center.

Instruct washer man to wash chain by pressurized water jet.

After reaching home. I sprayed WD-40 to my chain and left it to 10 min.

After 10 min, by cotton waste rubbed out the chain so that rust, grit and dirt can be cleaned properly.

And then, used chain lube spray in the internal portion of the chain. (Try to spray in the way that the lube did not influence the rim and tyre.)

During the time of servicing, I never used chain cleaning by mechanic at the service center.

By applying these simple procedures I have covered 30,000 KM without any problem.

Due to the fear of sudden breakage to chain by wear I replaced my chain sprocket again while it never hurt me during these 30,000 KM compared to 1st 15,000 KM.

Detailed Cost calculation attached herewith :

Cost of 1st 15,000 KM was 3100 ₹ with uncomfortable riding.

And cost of 2nd & 3rd 15,000 KM were total 3150 ₹ with smooth riding and better mileage.

By this way I doubled the lifespan of my chain and sprocket from 15,000 KM to 30,000 KM while cost was approximately same.

Note: I park my bike in moderate dusty open area for 8 hours daily.

Originally published at https://www.cubiccms.com on February 27, 2020.

--

--

Cubic cms

This website www.cubiccms.com is made for Technical and Automotive knowledge sharing blog. Please follow us for latest update.